Increase Font Size Normal Decrease Font Size


Arunachal Pradesh - earlier known as NEFA (North East Frontier Agency), was under the administration of Assam till 1972 and became Union Territory on 20th February 1972 and it became full pledge state of the Union of India on 20th February 1987. Since Agency days the Prison system used to be – by sending all the convicts of different Districts/Session Court to different Jails in Assam like Tezpur, Lakhimpur and Dibrugarh Jails.

Prisons in Arunachal Pradesh started with the grant of ten crore by the 11th Finance Commission vide Govt. of India No. 40/18/99-PRISONS/BPR&D Dated 17/08/2000 for creation of Jail infrastructures in the State of Arunachal Pradesh. Government of Arunachal Pradesh - created a Directorate of Prisons for prison administration and correctional service Vide No.HMB(B)-48/2000 Dtd 18/4/2006. Commissioner & Secretary(Home) appointed as ex-officio I.G.Prison Vide No.HMB(B)-54/86 Vol.I dated 1/12/2005. Now, nomenclature of the “Directorate of Prisons” has been changed to “ Directorate of Prisons & Correctional Administration” vide notification No.JHQ/ADMN-01/2017/1000 dtd 28-11-2017. Still Prisons in Arunachal Pradesh is one of the youngest in India and it is still in infant stage.

  • A) Out of 11th Finance Commission grant the following District Jails were constructed in 2004-2005:
    District Jails - 2 (two) one at Itanagar and another at Tezu

    1. The District Jail Jully operationalized w.e.f 3rd November 2009 March’2015 with a lodging capacity of 56 inmates initially and later increased to 156 with the construction of additional 100 inmates’ capacity cell. The UTPs of Itanagar, Naharlagun and Banderdewa Police Stations are lodged here and Convicts of Western part of AP are also lodged in District Jail Jully Itanagar.

    2. To reach Jail Headquarter & District Jail Jully:
      i) Nearest Railway Station - Naharlagun (approx. 11 kms)
      ii) Nearest Airport - Lilabari (approx.70 kms)
      iii) Civil Secretariat - Itanagar (approx. 7 kms)

    3. The District Jail Tezu started functioning w.e.f 18th March’2015 with a lodging capacity of 56 inmates. The UTPs of Lohit District and Convicts of Eastern part of AP are lodged in District Jail Tezu.

    4. To reach District Jail Tezu:
      i) Nearest Railway Station - Tinsukia (approx. 126 kms)
      ii) Nearest Airport - Dibrugarh (approx.176 kms)

  • B) Out of 11th Finance Commission grant the following Sub- Jails were also constructed in 2004-2005:
    Sub - Jails - 7 (seven) at Koloriang, Yingkiong, Along, Pasighat, Changlang, Khonsa and Longding,
    The 7 sub-jails could not operationalised till date due to lack of manpower in Prison Department and it is under the jurisdiction of concerned District Administration.